Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Living your fantasy life through clothing sure sounds lovely, but what does it really mean? I’ll use the example of my giant straw hat. Did I need it? Absolutely not. Do I live on a beach or a farm? Unfortunately not. But as I tried it on in the stifling heat of summer in D.C., I was exported to the beach, the breeze from the ocean blowing its’ brim, wearing a loose cotton dress over my damp bathing suit, toes in the sand.

I put the hat back down, my practical side kicking in. And as I walked away, my mind wandered to strolling through the Dupont Circle farmers market on a sunny fall morning, a giant straw basket in hand and even larger straw hat on my head, peering beneath the brim to pick out delectable honeycrisp apples.

photo-21

I decided to embrace the fantasy and hand over the $20 to the hat vendor, feeling a twinge of guilt, knowing that the hat probably wouldn’t get much wear.

Sure enough, the possibilities for hat usage presented before my eyes– at my sister’s pool providing a much needed respite from the sun, at a farm in Maryland for a day of raspberry picking with a dear friend, and sitting in a lounge chair on the beach at girls’ weekend in Atlantic City.

Similar to creating an inspiration board, purchasing an accessory or piece of clothing that gives way to your imagination is another tool to living a beautiful, inspired life.

Shot at Butler’s Orchard in Maryland wearing my favorite worn out jean shorts and straw hat.

{J-Crew jean shorts, Anne Taylor LOFT black tank (a great $6 basic for everyday use), hat from a vendor at Eastern Market}

 
