Tags

, , , , , ,

What do you tell yourself when you stand in the dressing room looking in the mirror? I’m not talking about those rare days when you look and feel great and everything seems to fit perfectly. I’m talking about those average days when you’re not feeling particularly beautiful and you’re standing in the dressing room judging yourself.

These are the top three thoughts that seem to run through my head:

  1. I feel fat.
  2. Nothing fits.
  3. I look terrible.

(I’m being honest, not positive :))

I’ve noticed how discouraged we can get standing face to face with ourselves, looking in the dressing room mirror. What’s that about?! Sure we’re influenced by the media and pictures of high fashion and models, but many of us aren’t striving for that, we simply don’t feel good in our skin. It’s as if what we are is not enough.

I’m the first to admit, I’m a perfectionist. And whether you are a self-prescribed perfectionist or not, there is a common theme of comparing ourselves to some higher standard that we hold in our minds.

GiftsOfImperfection

An incredible book that I plan to read again and again on this subject is “The Gifts of Imperfection” by Brené Brown. As a Ph.D. and L.C.S.W., Brené approaches important subjects like shame and vulnerability, with the perfect balance of research and powerful stories. (There I go using the word “perfect” again.)

So how does this relate to Wardrobe Vibrancy? Our shame and fear of being vulnerable gets in the way of us feeling empowered every time that we go into a dressing room and every time we walk down a street. A narrative unravels that tells us whether we look good and why we should look different in some way, shape, or form. The narrative has the ability to totally spoil our self-expression and self-image.

Before you step into the next dressing room, repeat this phrase: I am perfect just the way I am and just the way I am not. The clothes are not a reflection of my imperfections, some of them just don’t fit. That means nothing about my body– it simply means that it’s time to try something else on.

We’re all perfect in our imperfections; After all it is our imperfections that make us unique, and our unique-ness that is inspirational!

