Tags

, , , , ,

photo 3-5

I don’t know the first thing about makeup. From a young age I was told not to wear it and that just seemed to stick. In the world of au natural, even in a professional setting, I would throw on some coverup and mascara and call it a day. I deemed makeup fake and excessive, totally unnecessary. Until now.

On a quest to empower and inspire, I feel compelled to define my own style. And in the interest of having a more finished, polished look, it was time to enter the realm of makeup.

Selecting Bobbi Brown because of her natural makeup and approach, I sat in the chair anxiously. The makeup artist asked me what look I was going for and I muttered– “NATURAL” and “MINIMAL” as calmly as I could. Given my low makeup tolerance, every brush stroke on my face felt like a brush stroke too many. After about thirty minutes of painting, looking in the mirror, washing off, trying again, I started to warm up to her.

photo 2-6

“How old are you?” she asked me, and as 26 left my lips, I could feel my resistance ease. I’m a 26 year old professional woman, on the quest to feel empowered by what I put on everyday. And no matter how much I like to focus on wardrobe, there are other pieces of the puzzle to explore: ie. makeup.

photo 5-4

The session ended with a makeup splurge on a bag of Bobbi Brown goodies– powder, bronzer, blush, eye shadow, lipstick– basics for a five minute face. I felt natural and polished, ready to conquer the world.

What do you resist in the realm of personal style? Is it trying on a skirt, putting on mascara, wearing red lipstick? There is no single way to feel empowered, but there are many ways to give yourself a nudge. For me, makeup is one of them!

Note: Getting your makeup done by a professional at a department store is a great way to get your skin tone matched and start exploring. Buying designer makeup is more costly, though. If you’re on a tight budget, I would suggest getting it done by a makeup artist and investing in one or two of your favorite products, then fill in the rest with cheaper drug store options. Being made-up definitely doesn’t have to involve breaking the bank.

